883 Queen Street West
416-366-8973
mon-weds 10am-6pm
thurs-sat 10am-7pm
sun 11am-6pm
427 Spadina Road
416-487-8973
mon-sat 10am-6pm
sun 11am-6pm

KNIVES & FORKS & SIX DRAWING LESSONS

our reading list for the Holidays 2014


PERFECT GIFT BOOKS 

Cabins by Philip Jodidio
Experience sublime woodland living with this beautiful photographic book from Taschen.

The Cookbook Book 
Compiled by foodies, photographers, and artists, this Phaidon book collects images of recipes from favourite cookbooks from the last 300 years.

The Gardener’s Garden 
The ultimate garden book, featuring gardens from around the world and across the centuries.

Knife & Fork 
A finger-lickin’ good-lookin’ showcase of unconventional identities from the worlds of eating, drinking, and hospitality.

Maps by Aleksandra Mizielinska
A celebration of the world, this beautifully illustrated book is great for kids and map-lovers alike.
 
The Monocle Guide to Good Business
For the big cheese or wannabe entrepreneur on your list, a picture-rich bible of good business from Monocle magazine.

The Pocket Atlas of Islands by Judith Schalansky
Fifty faraway islands cheerfully bright, and pocket-sized too.

Vivian Maier: A Photographer Found 
The largest collection of the secret street photographer’s work to date. For the shutterbugs and street voyeurs on your list.

W: Stories
Ten of the most remarkable and captivating stories from W magazine.

COOKBOOKS

Bar Tartine
The chefs of the sister resto to San Fran’s Tartine Bakery share their secrets.

The New Classics by Donna Hay
The ultimate best-of, featuring classic recipes freshened up with modern flavours.

My Best
A new series sees the world’s most celebrated chefs compile the ten best recipes of their careers. Includes Alain Ducasse, Daniel Boulud, Eric Ripert, Pierre Hermé.

Plenty More by Yotam Ottolenghi
The sequel to the mega-selling Plenty. Every bit as mouth-watering and meat-free.

Pok Pok by Andy Ricker
Portland / NYC’s Pok Pok owner presents a master course in Thai cooking.

Saveur: The New Classics Cookbook 
More than 1,000 classic recipes from the editors of America’s favourite culinary magazine.

Thug Kitchen
Be a better veg eater! The cookbook from thugkitchen.com throws down 100 recipes for good eatin’ on a reasonable budget.

Toronto Cooks by Amy Rosen
Cooks at Toronto’s restaurants to share a favourite recipe.

MAGAZINE MADNESS

Fool Magazine > the new black in trendy food periodicals

Lucky Peach > a brand-new issue! 

Short Stack a series of pamphlet-style recipe books each focused on a single ingredient


BAKING & SHAKING

Baking Chez Moi by Dorie Greenspan
Sweet-tooth treats from the French kitchen from the author of Around My French Table.

Death & Co by David Kaplan and Nick Fauchald 
Move over, eggnog!  This book serves up more than 500 modern classic cocktail recipes to liven up your usual festive tipple.

What to Bake and How to Bake It by Jane Hornby
With 500 step-by-step photographs, this is a perfect gift for beginner bakers.

FICTION

This fall saw major buzz books from Karl Ove Knausgaard, Elena Ferrante, Margaret Atwood, and Ann-Marie MacDonald, and major prize winners from Sean MichaelsMiriam ToewsRichard FlanaganThomas King, and Phil Klay, and Type has ’em all. Other highly recommended and hot-off-the-presses fiction this season includes:

The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber
The Crimson Petal  and the White  author returns with a genre-defying story that he has said will be his final book.

Family Furnishings
This collection of selected Alice Munro stories from 1995 to 2014 makes the perfect gift for the short story lover on your list.

The Laughing Monsters Denis Johnson
A high-suspense tale of kaleidoscoping loyalties in the post-9/11 world.

Perfidia by James Ellroy
Novel number one in a new LA Quartet, using characters real and fictional from his earlier work. Brilliant Hollywood noir.

Suspended Sentences by Patrick Modiano
Rushed into print following his recent Nobel win, this book includes three dreamlike novellas.

The Wallcreeper by Nell Zink
The Indie-lit It Girl’s rambunctious debut novel is a strange and hilarious read.

ART & ARTISTS

33 Artists in 3 Acts by Sarah Thornton
Intimate, fly-on-the wall narratives on artists including Ai Weiwei and Jeff Koons by Seven Days in the Art World  author.

My Favorite Things by Maira Kalman
Featuring more than 50 original paintings, this new book celebrates objects both quotidian and quirky.

The Graphic Canon of Children’s Literature by Russ Kick
All your favourite fairy tales, fables, and fantastical adventures in eye-popping comic book form.

The Who, the What, and the When: 65 Artists Illustrate the Sidekicks of History
An offbeat, illustrated introduction to the friends, neighbours, and relatives the history books forgot.

Six Drawing Lessons
Based on the 2012 Charles Eliot Norton Lectures, this beautiful book collects William Kentridge’s thoughts on art, art-making, and the studio.

STORIES OF CITIES

Citi X 60 Guides
Take local artists’ tips with you when you travel. Available for London, Paris, Tokyo, Barcelona, and Berlin.

My Venice & Other Essays by Donna Leon
Armchair-travel essays on Italy and the arts.

Toronto: Biography of a City by Allan Levine
A story of the city that will surely inspire you to take a stroll.

FACTS & ARGUMENTS

Encyclopedia of Trouble and Spaciousness by Rebecca Solnit
Celebrated essays about the way we live.

How We Got To Now by Steven Johnson
Exploring the history of innovation and the power and legacy of good ideas.

Information Doesn’t Want to Be Free by Cory Doctorow
Proposing a persuasive set of laws for the Internet age.

This Changes Everything by Naomi Klein
Taking on capitalism and tackling the subject of climate change.

FAMOUS LIVES

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham
In which she talks about life and what she’s learned in her smash hit debut.

Tennessee Williams: Mad Pilgrimage of the Flesh by John Lahr
An astute and deeply researched theatre biography like no other.

Yes Please Amy Poehler
Smart, funny words to live by from the most charming SNL alum.


MUSIC MEGA-STARS

Jimmy Page by Jimmy Page
The photographic autobiography and visual history of one of the world’s most iconic guitar player.

Kurt Cobain: The Last Session
Cobain and Nirvana, in 90 pictures, on the 20th anniversary of Cobain’s death.

Marianne Faithful: A Life on Record 
A life in pictures, published to coincide with the 50th anniversary of the release of Faithful’s first single.

Neil Young: Special Delux
In his second memoir, Young shares reminiscences of his life and his passion for cars.

STORY BOOKS

An Armadillo in Paris by Julie Kraulis’s
An armadillo goes in search of an iron lady and some Parisian fun.

Moominvalley Pull-out Pop-up
The enchanting Moomintrolls come to life in this pop-up version of the colourful classic.

The Night Before Christmas
Roger Duvoisin illustrates the Clement C. Moore classic. 

Once Upon an Alphabet by Oliver Jeffers
Letters make words, words make stories, and this book will always make you smile.

Waiting Is Not Easy by Mo Willems
Elephant learns the rewards of waiting.

EARLY & MIDDLE READERS

The Yeti Files #1: Meet the Bigfeet by Kevin Sherry
A hilarious new illustrated series that helps kids transition from story book to chapter book.

The Disgusting Critters series
This early-reader non-fiction by Elise Gravel teaches little kids about The Slug, The Rat, The Worm, and The Fly. Educational and ewww gross!

Egg & Spoon by Gregory Maguire
For older middle readers, a retelling of the folkloric Baba Yaga tale by the author of Wicked.

YOUNG ADULT NOVELS

Endgame by James Frey
Play. Survive. Solve. People of Earth: Endgame has begun. A novel by  that’s perfect for fans of The Hunger Games  or The 5th Wave.

The Glass Sentence by S. E. Grove
Set 100 years after the “Great Disruption,” this book is the first in the Mapmakers trilogy. Great light fantasy for young adults.

This One Summer by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki
The brilliant graphic novel for teens has been captivating us all year, and now a Governor General Award winner for  Children’s Literature Illustrations.

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
A group friendship becomes destructive in this sophisticated suspense novel that teen readers have been going crazy for.